Thank you for considering Ogeechee Technical College for your child’s driver’s education training. Learning to drive is a major milestone for your teen and it is important that young or inexperienced drivers learn safe driving techniques. In 2007, the State of Georgia passed Joshua’s Law which requires all teen drivers to take an approved driver’s education course before obtaining their Class D driver’s license. Our state approved driver’s education course meets the requirements for Joshua’s Law and includes 30 hours of classroom instruction, and six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. In addition, most insurance companies offer a discount on insurance premiums upon successful completion of the course.
Students will be officially enrolled in the requested class, as space allows, when the Continuing Education Office receives all the necessary paperwork. Class size is limited to 24 students and will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis. Seats for scholarship vouchers will be available on a limited basis.
To enroll in one of our Driver’s Education classes, complete all the forms in the registration packet and submit to the Continuing Education office with payment or scholarship voucher, and a copy of the student’s learner’s permit.
The class fee is $379 per student and is payable by scholarship voucher, check, money order, Visa, or MasterCard and is required at the time of registration. Your child may be eligible for a scholarship through the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission. Please visit www.gahighwaysafety.org/GDEC/ for scholarship eligibility criteria and the scholarship application. If your child recieves a scholarship, he/she must complete the training per the scholarship requirements. If you paid for the class prior to receiving a scholarship voucher, the class fee will be reimbursed once your child successfully completes the class per the scholarship requirements.
Students will not be enrolled in a class until all the required documents are received. You may scan/email, fax, mail, or hand deliver registration documents as indicated in the registration packet.
Once your child completes the classroom portion of the training, he/she can begin the behind-the-wheel instruction. Driving instruction is scheduled in two (2) hour time blocks, and you will need to sign him/her up for three (3) driving appointments. More information on the driving instruction is provided on the first day of class.
Cancellations need to be made at least 5 business days prior to the start of a class. There is a $20 cancellation fee. Cancellations requested after the deadline will not be granted. Ogeechee Technical College reserves the right to cancel any class due to low enrollment. In the event a class is cancelled, parents will be notified and have the option to transfer to another class time.
For a complete listing of our Driver’s Education class schedule, please click here.
For more information please contact:
Director for Continuing Education & Industry Training